Community
Small Game, Predator and Trapping From shooting squirrels in your backyard to calling coyotes in Arizona. This forum now contains trapping information.

PROBLEM WITH FOXES AND COYOTES

Old 11-19-2005, 07:58 AM

Default PROBLEM WITH FOXES AND COYOTES

hi everybody, i'm new here and eager to start communicating with experienced outdoorsman. i have a problem i hope somebody here can help me with. my aunt has a farm here in pennsylvania and recently we have had lots of problems with coyotes and fox preying on our chickens and turkey. i'm not experienced in hunting yet and it's just me and my aunt here and few farm hands that can't help much with that. what is the best way to stop this? what are some good ways to trap or hunt them? i have to check with my county to see what is legal also before i do this of course. thanks for any replies. Chrissy
Old 11-19-2005, 08:42 AM
Nontypical Buck

Default RE: PROBLEM WITH FOXES AND COYOTES

If your interested in some sets for fox and coyote this webpage might help you.
http://www.ngpc.state.ne.us/hunting/guides/furbearer/TM-redfox.asp

As far as traps you'll want Victor #2 or so in size.

But you have to have a trapping lisence for your state and they must be in season and all other regulations must be followed.

Otherwise your options are to shoot or live trap them. I would just patrol around the property and shoot them as I see them. You can try staking out chicken coops or whatever they are hitting but I'm not sure if that would work too well.

I'll post more when I get off work.
Old 11-19-2005, 01:33 PM

i would hunt them with a highpowered rifle is legal and just sit by your house and wait to see if they come for the chickens and if they do then theirs your shot but just sit still and stay quiet and sit right up against the house and wear clothes that match the house or a farm building that you're sitting at and pop them when they get there

Old 11-19-2005, 07:02 PM
Fork Horn

Hey Christina,