Scopes and Sights Discuss firearm scopes, sights and related accessories here.

Lapping

Old 11-29-2016, 03:10 AM
  #1  
Spike
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 1
Default Lapping

I am new to this forum so forgive me if this has been previously discussed.

I will be purchasing the Winchester XPR chambered in a .270. I plan to upgrade the scope so am buying separately. Winchester offers their own integrated scope mounts (I believe they are made by Talley). In this application, since you will not be able to align the front and rear mounts, is lapping necessary? Your opinions and knowledge are appreciated
Loanshark46 is offline  
Old 11-29-2016, 04:49 AM
  #2  
Nontypical Buck
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: gilbert az
Posts: 1,168
Default

not sure why you can't align your scope rings ? they make scope alignment kits that have two rods with points on the ends to turn the rings until the pointed tips align with each other. if you buy the kit you will get all the tools needed for both alignment and lapping i would lap them but not until they are aligned.
muzzlestuffer is offline  
Old 11-29-2016, 03:02 PM
  #3  
Nontypical Buck
 
PaJack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: N-E PA.
Posts: 1,787
Lightbulb

I've mounted countless number scopes over the last 40+ years and I always lap all scope rings! If you don't,only about 20-30% of the rings make contact with the scope. After lapping the rings that number jumps up to approximately 60-70% and that's the best you can hope for. Wheeler has the scope mounting kit that is well worth the investment. Hope this helps...
PaJack is offline  
Old 11-29-2016, 04:01 PM
  #4  
Nontypical Buck
 
Nomercy448's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Kansas
Posts: 3,580
Default

Lapping blindly is as foolish as neglecting to lap at all. The first step in lapping any rings should be a test of current contact. If the rings are perfectly aligned and have sufficient contact, you'll know within a few seconds of lapping. If they do not, then equally, you'll know.

Talley, Seekins, Larue, Nightforce, and often Warne do not need lapped. But I always check, just the same. Burris signature Zee rings do not need and cannot be lapped. Everyone gets checked, some take a long time to finish, some are sufficient upon the check and take effectively no time at all.
Nomercy448 is offline  
Old 11-29-2016, 06:20 PM
  #5  
Giant Nontypical
 
salukipv1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: IL
Posts: 6,552
Default

It's so easy, I do it now where applicable.

Don't over do it though.

more and cleaner mating surfaces, what's not to like?
salukipv1 is offline  
Old 03-09-2017, 07:40 AM
  #6  
RWK
Nontypical Buck
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 1,149
Default

Originally Posted by PaJack View Post
I've mounted countless number scopes over the last 40+ years and I always lap all scope rings! If you don't,only about 20-30% of the rings make contact with the scope. After lapping the rings that number jumps up to approximately 60-70% and that's the best you can hope for. Wheeler has the scope mounting kit that is well worth the investment. Hope this helps...
What do u use for compound and were to find. Thanks rich
RWK is offline  
Old 03-09-2017, 09:30 AM
  #7  
Giant Nontypical
 
Sheridan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location:
Posts: 5,130
Default

you might look into using these;

https://www.midwayusa.com/product/71...05-010-and-020

• Provide 100% scope-to-ring contact
eliminating the need to lap rings. The
Pos-Align Inserts pivot within the ring
while maintaining direct contact with the
scope, creating more gripping power
while leaving the scope unmarked.
Sheridan is offline  
Old 03-10-2017, 04:44 PM
  #8  
Nontypical Buck
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Eastern wv
Posts: 2,643
Default

just buy cnc cut rings, they don't need lapped
RR
Ridge Runner is online now  
Old 03-10-2017, 05:55 PM
  #9  
Giant Nontypical
 
Sheridan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location:
Posts: 5,130
Default

Originally Posted by Ridge Runner View Post
just buy cnc cut rings, they don't need lapped
RR
Ridge,

Do you like the "inserts" ?

Do you think they make for "better contact" with the scope tube ?
Sheridan is offline  
Old 03-10-2017, 06:10 PM
  #10  
Nontypical Buck
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Eastern wv
Posts: 2,643
Default

never used them, I just buy a 20 moa base
RR
Ridge Runner is online now  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.