Scopes and Sights Discuss firearm scopes, sights and related accessories here.

Tikka T3 Scope Mount

Old 01-31-2014, 11:16 AM
  #1  
Spike
Thread Starter
 
kampmanfan4life's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Green Bay, Wisconsin
Posts: 24
Default Tikka T3 Scope Mount

I got a Tikka T3 .270 on the way. This one. http://www.gunsamerica.com/947345224...ka_T3_27.htm?#

I've also already just paid for a VX-2 Leupold scope for it.

I am just wondering which Mouts I should buy? Also is it hard to put them on? Is it as simple as screwing them in and going to the range to sight in?

Thanks and you guys are awesome.
kampmanfan4life is offline  
Old 01-31-2014, 04:15 PM
  #2  
Boone & Crockett
 
bronko22000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Eastern PA
Posts: 11,625
Default

Your Tikka will come with scope mounts. Also it has an integral dovetail on the receiver to install them. Rememeber you don't have to be a gorilla grip to install rings and mounts. That is where most mount or scope damage/failure comes from - too much over tightening. Some guys don't like the Tikka rings but I have mine on my 30-06 for a few years now on a Burris Fullfield scope and have no problems with them.
bronko22000 is offline  
Old 01-31-2014, 07:24 PM
  #3  
Giant Nontypical
 
Sheridan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location:
Posts: 5,130
Default

I use Burris bases and their "zee" rings also (but on a Sako, and all the other rifles I own).

http://www.burrisoptics.com/bases.html

http://www.opticsplanet.com/burris-z...yle-bases.html



Been hearing good things about these "game reapers" though.

http://www.dnzproducts.com/game-reaper-mounts

Last edited by Sheridan; 01-31-2014 at 07:31 PM.
Sheridan is offline  
Old 02-01-2014, 02:48 AM
  #4  
Nontypical Buck
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Warren County NJ USA
Posts: 3,803
Default

look into the DNZ, they are rock solid
BOWHUNTERCOP is offline  
Old 02-01-2014, 07:25 AM
  #5  
Fork Horn
 
OpticsCamp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 237
Default

Bronko is right, the Tikka action has built-in bases, so you're looking for a set of rings that are a direct fit.

Warne makes a set of medium and high rings in 1" specially made for Tikka:
http://opticscamp.com/warne-scope-ri...edium-1tm.html
http://opticscamp.com/warne-scope-ri...-high-2tm.html
OpticsCamp is offline  
Old 02-01-2014, 09:43 AM
  #6  
Spike
Thread Starter
 
kampmanfan4life's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Green Bay, Wisconsin
Posts: 24
Default

Thank you guys. I'll just wait until I get my rifle, seems like I may not have to spend any more money.
kampmanfan4life is offline  
Old 02-02-2014, 02:40 AM
  #7  
Spike
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 27
Default

I purchased 2 tikkas last year. 243 and 308 .nice and light easy on my bad shoulders. The 308 stock rings would not hold my scope the scope was walking forward after every shot. I ended up putting a little sticker in front of forward scope ring and you could actually see it moving away after ever shot. Of coarse this happened 1 week before my Colorado trip. cabelas did mount the scope the first time Bushnell legend hd. I also tried a dnz did the same thing. I ended up 2 days before trip putting a thin layer of liquid electrical tape on rings and remounted. It has not moved at all. But in my mind it is still not right. I called Bushnell tech support they said never heard of it. Kind of think that was BS cause u Google it and I am not the first person with problem
unclefish is offline  
Old 02-02-2014, 07:46 AM
  #8  
Typical Buck
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 538
Default

Originally Posted by unclefish View Post
I purchased 2 tikkas last year. 243 and 308 .nice and light easy on my bad shoulders. The 308 stock rings would not hold my scope the scope was walking forward after every shot. I ended up putting a little sticker in front of forward scope ring and you could actually see it moving away after ever shot. Of coarse this happened 1 week before my Colorado trip. cabelas did mount the scope the first time Bushnell legend hd. I also tried a dnz did the same thing. I ended up 2 days before trip putting a thin layer of liquid electrical tape on rings and remounted. It has not moved at all. But in my mind it is still not right. I called Bushnell tech support they said never heard of it. Kind of think that was BS cause u Google it and I am not the first person with problem
Your scope is slipping and it's the scopes fault? Not likely.
Wayspr is offline  
Old 02-02-2014, 07:56 AM
  #9  
Nontypical Buck
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Clermont Florida U.S.
Posts: 4,970
Default

The stock Tikka rings are crap. Replace immediately.
bugsNbows is offline  
Old 02-15-2014, 02:09 PM
  #10  
Spike
Thread Starter
 
kampmanfan4life's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Green Bay, Wisconsin
Posts: 24
Default

Just picked up the rifle. Are the medium or high rings more common. Is their a big noticeable difference? No way of knowing unless you set it up and try it out correct?
kampmanfan4life is offline  

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.