Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Firearms Forum > Scopes and Sights
Nikon Prostaff, Buckmaster or something else? >

Nikon Prostaff, Buckmaster or something else?

Scopes and Sights Discuss firearm scopes, sights and related accessories here.

Nikon Prostaff, Buckmaster or something else?

Old 08-05-2010, 03:58 PM
o_O
Spike

Default Nikon Prostaff, Buckmaster or something else?

Just picked up a Marlin XL7 30-06, and now I need a scope and rings for it before Colorado's deer and elk season. The Marlin does come with a base but no idea how quality it is. This is my first hunting rifle and I'm not experienced with hunting rifles (I'm ex pat Brit) so any advice will be appreciated. I do have a shotgun, .22 and a couple of 9mm handguns and have been shooting for a few years.

I'm hearing nothing but good things about Nikon and the price of the Prostaff is right. So...
  • Is there anything else comparable on quality and price?
  • Is 50mm worth the extra.
  • Will a noobie like me notice the difference between the Prostaff and Buckmaster?
  • Is the BDC reticule a marketing gimmick?

Here's some I've looked into and their prices.

$145 - NIKON Prostaff 3-9x40 Riflescope w/BDC Reticle, Matte Finish - 6320
$160 - Nikon Prostaff 4-12 x 40mm Riflescope w/BDC Reticle, Matte Finish - 6325
$200 - NIKON Prostaff 3-9x50 Riflescope w/BDC Reticle, Matte Finish - 6321
$210 - NIKON Buckmasters 3-9x40 Riflescope w/BDC Reticle, Matte Finish - 6421

I know it's always tempting to spend more but I'm soon to be debt free so will not be looking to dig a debt hole, so the budget is <$200 with a little wiggle room if it was really worth it. I still have to get a sling, case and ammo so if I can spend $150 on the scope and less than $50 on the rings/base I'd be a happy man.
Old 08-05-2010, 04:40 PM
Nontypical Buck

That BDC is a gimmick, I do like the Buckmaster Scope it's good quality for the money
Old 08-05-2010, 04:51 PM
o_O
Spike