Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Firearms Forum > Reloading
 Pro's and Con's?? >

Pro's and Con's??

Community
Reloading Share techniques for reloading, where to get the hottest in reloading equipment and learn how to reload from fellow hunters.

Pro's and Con's??

Old 03-18-2005, 06:42 AM
Nontypical Buck

Default Pro's and Con's??

To reloading nickel plated casings? I was thinking about reloading .338 loads but want to know if it is more work than brass casings?

Thanks GHJ
Old 03-18-2005, 08:46 AM
Nontypical Buck

Default RE: Pro's and Con's??

Lots of opinions here.....I like nickel...it's easier to clean and helps to identify loads. All my hunting loads with premium bullets are loaded in Nickel cases......practice loads are in brass cases.

I've not encountered any of the negatives others claim to have with it.
Old 03-27-2005, 02:57 PM

I have run into some problems with them.And i have been loading since the 1950,s. First off i found that i couldn,t resize my 340WBY. Nickel makes the brass harder.Even with my rock chuck press they would only size about 1/3 there lenght then to much pressure on them so i stopped,Afraid of them stilcking in the die. Then with some 270 win i got they sized hard but didn,t seem bad,but when i took them out of the shell holder the llips of the rim were bent a litte. Loading others i haven,t had any problems,even thought i really like them i kinda staying away from reloading them and just using them for when i go serious hunting,and just won,t use them again. vangunsmith
Old 03-27-2005, 09:59 PM
Nontypical Buck