Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Firearms Forum > Reloading
 What bullet?? 270wsm >

What bullet?? 270wsm

Community
Reloading Share techniques for reloading, where to get the hottest in reloading equipment and learn how to reload from fellow hunters.

What bullet?? 270wsm

Old 04-04-2004, 09:30 AM

Default What bullet?? 270wsm

Im getting a buddy to reload for my 270 wsm and was wondering what would be the best bullet to get and grain? Im using the rifle for hunting mule deer and whitetail and since I live in Saskatchewan the long shots are a possibility. Basically I want a bullet then can take an animal quicky and from a good distance. All posts are appreciated as I am quite new to this.
Cheers!!
Old 04-04-2004, 10:13 AM
Nontypical Buck

Default RE: What bullet?? 270wsm

work up a load with the Hornady 130 or 150 grain interbond
Old 04-04-2004, 10:51 AM
Giant Nontypical

The 130gr bullets will do everything that you require.You do not need a heavier bullet for any deer hunting.
Old 04-04-2004, 12:03 PM
jjt

140 gr accubond or 140 gr nosler partition

vapo
man you have got expensive taste in bullets (ie. aframe, interbond, etc)your wife must be one very understanding women
Old 04-04-2004, 12:29 PM

Have any of you guys used the Ballistic Silvertip Boattail? I see I can get them in a 130 grain and the blip behind the bullet says" made expressly to maximize long range bullet stabilty and accuracy" Any thoughts??
Cheers!!
Old 04-04-2004, 02:42 PM
Giant Nontypical

For longer ranges on animals as heavy as northern whitetails and mulies I would stay away from ballistic tip style bullets and use more of a controlled expansion bullet. My choice for the 270 wsm in your application would be a Barnes 130gr XLC.
I really like ballistic tip bullets for lighter game, I have had goodaccuracy and performance with the 270 wby mag on pronghorns with the 130 grain nosler BT at 3290 fps. (1/2" groups @100 yds.)
Old 04-04-2004, 02:47 PM
Nontypical Buck

vapo