Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Firearms Forum > Reloading
Rifle powder question/discussion >

Rifle powder question/discussion

Community
Reloading Share techniques for reloading, where to get the hottest in reloading equipment and learn how to reload from fellow hunters.

Rifle powder question/discussion

Old 05-29-2013, 08:56 AM
Banned

Default Rifle powder question/discussion

What makes one powder, say Varget, a guys favorite, and IMR 4320 his "least favorite" rifle powder? (These two powders are right next to each other on a burn chart!)
This is part of a conversation I just had with Brad Elder at Swift Bullet Co.
I'm still relatively new to reloading and this is one of the anomalies I have no answer for. A lot of guys seem to have their "faves" and "hates". I have used 4320 in my .308 Win with favorable results. I got it in fact because it was right next to Varget on the burn rate charts and Varget was nowhere to be found. This is not to compare just those two, but many powders becomje a guys favorite while another does not.
I understand and accept that certain powders have a history of being more compatible with one caliber of rifle/pistol over another. Maybe I should lose the idea that because two powders are near each other on the burn chart that they have similar characteristics.
Old 05-29-2013, 02:08 PM
Typical Buck

Burn rate is only one of many factors that impact accuracy. I don't claim to be a powder expert, there are many people on this forum that know a great deal more than I do.

I do know that the type of powder...ball, cylindrical, blended (dual based), etc also plays a role in both accuracy and loyalty. I have friends that use nothing but ball powder because their powder measures/scales perform more consistently with, making reloading easier/faster...