Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Firearms Forum > Reloading
Which equipment? >

Which equipment?

Community
Reloading Share techniques for reloading, where to get the hottest in reloading equipment and learn how to reload from fellow hunters.

Which equipment?

Old 02-01-2013, 01:56 PM
Nontypical Buck

Question Which equipment?

I am thinking about starting to reload. I have never done it before so I would like advice on what equipment to consider.

I would like to be able to reload for rifles, mainly 30-06 or 300 Win Mag. I think a single stage press would be adequate as I would want to take my time and be as accurate and consist ant as I can.

Thanks for any advice!

Last edited by Rob in VT; 02-12-2013 at 02:15 PM.
Old 02-01-2013, 03:21 PM
Typical Buck

I actually prefer a single-stage press, but I am old school...as I still use a balance scale and hand weigh each charge and do most my brass prep by hand. I have 2 old CH single stage presses and love them...they are stronger in my opinion than the RCBS rockchucker...but I will say the rockchucker is a good beginner press. The Hornady Lock-n-load presses also get good reviews, my brother loves his! I use RCBS dies mostly and am happy with them.

Basically you need dies, a press, tumbler, powder measure, case deburring tool, powder, primers, brass and lead...and a good reloading book! I like the Nosler, Hornady and Speer books...all for different reasons. Reloading is a disease and eventually you'll need a whole room dedicated to it and more tools than carter has pills! Buy a book or two and read up a little before you buy tools...Enjoy!
Old 02-01-2013, 03:34 PM
Typical Buck

And a nice caliper.
Old 02-02-2013, 04:00 AM
Typical Buck