Community
Reloading Share techniques for reloading, where to get the hottest in reloading equipment and learn how to reload from fellow hunters.

bullet lube?

Old 05-30-2012, 02:22 PM
Typical Buck

Default bullet lube?

Like most folks asking general questions on here,I am just getting started. I plan to start with 9mm. I was looking through some web sites and I noticed that some cast bullets come lubed and some don't. I figure,if I load cast bullets,I can drop my cost to around 12 cents per round. My question is,do I need lubed bullets? If so,should I lube them myself or buy pre-lubed? I am in no rush. I don't plan to crank out my first rounds until next month or the month after that.I am still accumulating the materials and tools I need to reload . I still need one more reloading manual[I started with the Lyman manual and I'm thinking I should get the Speer or Lee manual next], a scale, and minor tools like a chamfer.and case trimmer. But I digress. I mainly want to know about loading cast bullets. I will get a 45 sometime next year and I want to be able to reload rounds for it before I spend myself broke shooting it.
Old 05-30-2012, 06:01 PM
Fork Horn

I'd tell you to buy pre-lubed & sized.
Reason being, getting into casting AND reloading at the same time may overload you and make it seem like "too much work" and you'll be less likely to carry through with either.

For that matter...
http://www.missouribullet.com/detail...ry=8&keywords=

$.06 per boolit..

half of what you were going to cast your own for..
Old 05-30-2012, 06:12 PM
Nontypical Buck

First things first, sign up at castboolits website. http://castboolits.gunloads.com/