Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Firearms Forum > Reloading
Want to get started in reloading >

Want to get started in reloading

Community
Reloading Share techniques for reloading, where to get the hottest in reloading equipment and learn how to reload from fellow hunters.

Want to get started in reloading

Old 01-11-2012, 02:41 PM
Nontypical Buck

Default Want to get started in reloading

Hello all. I would like to get started in reloading and have been doing some research on the subject. I was hoping to get some advice on the choice of press.

I will be reloading:
30-06
30-30
38/357

As mentioned this is my first time doing this. Am I better off keeping it simple and use a single stage while I learn and decide if I really want to get in to this? Go with a turret press, again simple but a little faster (?) than the single stage which should help with cranking out pistol ammo. Or go progressive?

I have decided on RCBS so it would be the Rock Chucker, the RCBS turret or the Pro 2000.

Thank you again for your thoughts and comments.
Old 01-11-2012, 03:47 PM
Nontypical Buck

You cant go wrong with the rockchucker, I have had mine for 24yrs and never had a problem with it. I have never loaded any pistol rounds before, so I am no help there. Reloading is tons of fun and allows me to shoot more often.
Old 01-11-2012, 07:14 PM
Nontypical Buck

You cant go wrong with the rockchucker
I am reading mixed reviews on the priming system of the Turret Press. The RockChucker looks like a great piece of equipment was just hoping for something a little faster.
Old 01-12-2012, 02:51 AM
Typical Buck

When starting out, a single stage is the only way to go. After you have learned the do's and don'ts of reloading, if you want a progressive......buy one. In the beginning, focus on reading as much as possible and not worrying about speed but producing accurate safe ammo.
Old 01-12-2012, 04:59 AM
Nontypical Buck