Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Firearms Forum > Reloading
Full Length vs neck sizing >

Full Length vs neck sizing

Community
Reloading Share techniques for reloading, where to get the hottest in reloading equipment and learn how to reload from fellow hunters.

Full Length vs neck sizing

Old 07-05-2011, 12:36 PM
Spike

Default Full Length vs neck sizing

What is the advantagle of neck sizing over full lenght sizing? It's my understanding that when loading rounds that will be used in one particular rifle is when you could neck size only, is this correct? Why would one want to neck size only?

Obviously, I'm just getting into reloading. I've read three reloading manuals but not reloaded my first round yet.
Old 07-06-2011, 05:01 AM
Fork Horn

Neck sizing will create more consistent velocities. Works the case much less, improve case life.

Now the bad. Besides the collet neck sizer most neck sizers do not support the case and cause the neck to go out of round. Sometimes anyway. Second, after neck sizing a few times, hard extraction. Also kinda dangerous if going hunting because you might have trouble inserting a round. I full length my hunting rounds usually.
Old 07-06-2011, 07:47 AM
Giant Nontypical

Just neck sizing the case is done for one rifle in particular like you mentioned. Normally you will get a little better accuracy by only neck sizing enough so when you reload the case it will hold the new bullet tight. The rest of the case has been fireformed to that particular rifle chamber and a case should take a number of reloads before it needs to be full length resized if the guns chamber is in good shape.
Old 07-06-2011, 10:16 AM
Nontypical Buck

What about neck sizing vs FLS in a single shot such as ProHunter or Encore. Does neck sizing eliminate head space issues? What about neck sizing in belted magnums for a single shot?
Old 07-08-2011, 12:46 PM
Fork Horn

Yep SJ, I neck size in encore. Anyway you can form your case for your chamber helps.