Community
Reloading Share techniques for reloading, where to get the hottest in reloading equipment and learn how to reload from fellow hunters.

[Deleted]

Old 01-03-2002, 03:33 PM
Banned

Default [Deleted]

[Deleted by Admins]
Old 01-03-2002, 05:34 PM
Nontypical Buck

Default RE: 6.5x55 swede and varmints

I know that you can expect great accuracy with bullets as light as 120 grains....but I've no experience with anything lighter than that. There are more than a few 6.5 x 55 owners out there, but the owners of .260's should be able to give you relable info that will transfer to the 6.5 x 55 adequately. I guess if you have some of the lighter bullets on your bench I'd suggest filling 20 or so cases with a medium speed load and just try them at the range. I know that the latest LEE reloading book gives loads for 70, 77, 80 and 85 grain bullets, Sierra gives loads for a 85 grain bullet, the NRA publication titled "Handloading" gives loads for 77, 85, and 87 grain loads
However, my (old) Speer starts with 120 grainers and my (old) Hornady manual starts with 100 grainers. Good luck......My guess is that you'll get acceptable accuracy down to even the 87 grain balls unless you crank the speed up to the upper end of the suggested loads.
Old 01-04-2002, 07:56 PM

I don't know the rate of twist in my 6.5x55 surplus mauser (sporterized), but it doesnt like the 120 grain bullets with any of the powders I have tried. I have found a good load using the Sierra 100 grain HP; I load it over 42.5 grains of IMR 4064 and a CCI 200 primer. Not sure of the velocity, but it shoots sub MOA at 100 yards. Haven't had a chance to try it on game yet, though. My rifle seems to prefer the 100 grain Sierra, the 129 grain Hornady, and is so-so about any bullet in 140 grains. Good luck and good hunting.
Old 01-05-2002, 03:21 PM
Nontypical Buck