Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Firearms Forum > Reloading
Full length resizeing or neck resizeing? >

Full length resizeing or neck resizeing?

Community
Reloading Share techniques for reloading, where to get the hottest in reloading equipment and learn how to reload from fellow hunters.

Full length resizeing or neck resizeing?

Old 02-07-2010, 11:41 AM
Fork Horn

Smile Full length resizeing or neck resizeing?

I have a dumb question but here goes, I have been reloading center fire rifle cartridges for several years and I have always full length resized them and I have never had a problem. the gentleman who taught me how to reload always said to full lenght resize them, but he shoots alot of semi autos and I have always shot a bolt action or lever action. I have read several people on tis forum state that neck sizeing is more accurate and the brass lasts longer. My question is how do you neck resize? what are the pros and cons of neck resizing vs full length resizing?
Thx for the help.
Old 02-07-2010, 01:02 PM
Nontypical Buck

My 2 cents is FL for hunting and neck size for bench shooting. Also if you will be shooting the same shells in different rifles of the same caliber you will want to FL size. I have always FL sized for my bolt actions for hunting because it eliminates the possibility of ever having a chambering problem in the field while hunting. I recently have got my first single shot TC Pro Hunter and I plan on neck sizing for it.
Old 02-09-2010, 06:42 PM
Typical Buck