Reloading Share techniques for reloading, where to get the hottest in reloading equipment and learn how to reload from fellow hunters.

Accubond

Old 12-11-2008, 02:30 PM

Default Accubond

I am a newb to this forum and have a question about the Accubond bullets. This is in no way an insult or anything just a simple question. Why does everyone love them on here? I have always used a spire point bullet for whitetailwith great results. I get very clean shots with little muscle damage or excessively large exit wounds. I shoot either a .270 or 06 both with 130 gr hornady spire points. The reason I ask is that the accubond are a lot more expensive than a spire point. So what about the accubond would justify me spending the extra coin? Just curious and by no means want to upset/insult anyone in the forum that loves these bullets.

Thanks,
Old 12-13-2008, 02:16 PM
Nontypical Buck

Default RE: Accubond

I shoot the 110gr Accubond in my 25.06 because they do just what Nosler claims in that you getballistic tipaccuracy with partition type performance.I know the accubond will penetrate and hold together no matter the angle of the animal. It's also the most accurate bullet i have found for this particular rifle. I haven't found these bullets to leave large exit wounds or at least that hasn't been the case with me. They look like a pencil hole going in and about the size of a nickel coming out with a nice big wound channel and dead deer.

Nothing wrong with Hornady bullets eitherI use to shoot the Hornady 130gr SP in my 30.06 and killed a ton of deer with it but i had a couple to pretty much explode at close range.I decided to try something else so i started looking for another light weight bullet that was better constructed. I ended up with the Barnes 130gr TSX and man that is a wicked bullet on whitetails from the 30.06 from close range out to as far as you want to shoot.
Old 12-29-2008, 02:33 PM
Typical Buck