Community
Reloading Share techniques for reloading, where to get the hottest in reloading equipment and learn how to reload from fellow hunters.

sizing

Old 11-22-2008, 10:19 AM
Fork Horn

Default sizing

Is there much of an advantage of neck sizing versus full-length sizing? I have been reloading for a little over 4 years and full-length sizing everytime. I have heard neck sizing gives a little more accuracy. All my guns I load for are bolt action. What are the pros and cons of neck sizing only?
Old 11-22-2008, 04:51 PM
Nontypical Buck

Default RE: sizing

Longer case life, and very very close in shape and size in reguards of chamber size and case to chamber fit. When one neck sizes the case, itcan only be fired in the chamber it was fireformed in. Good luck.
Old 11-22-2008, 06:55 PM
Boone & Crockett

It is true that neck sizing does increase case life and in most cases improves accuracy. But I always FL resize. And when I plan to go on a hunt, I check every round to be sure I have no chambering issues. Also, because I have several rifles of the same chambering, I want to be sure the brass fits each rifle.

Old 11-22-2008, 07:26 PM
Fork Horn