Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Firearms Forum > Reloading
 New to reloading >

New to reloading

Community
Reloading Share techniques for reloading, where to get the hottest in reloading equipment and learn how to reload from fellow hunters.

New to reloading

Old 02-18-2003, 09:39 PM

Default New to reloading

I am new to reloading and need lots of help. First of all what do you actually " need" to reload rifle loads. I have read a lot of different posts and read many of different tools that do " this and that" but what is actually needed. Also, when buying primers what size do I need for a .270? I would consider it a large caliber but not a small, do they make medium size primers. (I am very new to reloading). And can anyone recommend a certain type or brand of powder to experiment with. That is all the questions I have right now, but I gurantee I will have many more. Thanks everyone in advance.
Old 02-19-2003, 02:38 AM
Nontypical Buck

Default RE: New to reloading

I think first I would recommend that you get a book on reloading and read it .That will give you a better idea what it is all about . Then ask your questions . There are to many things to learn that it would be very hard to put it all down here so someone just starting could understand . Most reloading manuals will go a long way toward explaining it so you could start there .
Old 02-19-2003, 11:41 AM
Nontypical Buck

I agree with halcon 100%...
Old 02-19-2003, 05:52 PM

I agree with Halcon and Pajack. The book(s) will explain everything. Lyman or Lee but preferably both. Read them several times then read them again. Keep them close you will refer to them constantly. There are other posts here that list what equipment you need. I posted some of them. Go back read all the posts here. It' s not that I don' t want to help but although it' s not a lot of stuff it takes a lot of time to list it when it' s already here.
Old 02-19-2003, 09:33 PM
Nontypical Buck