Community
Reloading Share techniques for reloading, where to get the hottest in reloading equipment and learn how to reload from fellow hunters.

crimping?

Old 12-15-2007, 10:56 AM
Fork Horn

Default crimping?

I am fairly new to this reloading thing. I have been reloading for my .270. I have had good accuracy from my spitzer, flat based, reloads. I originally purchased SSTs, but could barely keep them on the paper. Tried different powder, but could not improve consitancy. I have also tried some sierra's that have a boat tail, and a couple of barnes. The barnes had the best group, about 2". I know Barnes recomends crimping (though I didn't know that when I loaded the sample bullets). From another post I got the impression that factory loads are crimped. Would crimping my reloads improve the accuracy of the boatails?
Old 12-15-2007, 11:12 AM

Default RE: crimping?

Probably not...
Old 12-15-2007, 11:17 AM
Giant Nontypical

It may or may not,depending on the load.I don't find the need to crimp any of my handloads.
Old 12-15-2007, 01:16 PM
Fork Horn

I am a big fan of the Lee Factory Crimp Die. It works very well and has improved accuracy in many of my rifles. That said, I don't think crimping will help you at all. It will not take a 2+ inch croup and make it happy. You haveother issues that should be addressed first. With loads that will not find paperor 2 inch plus groups you need to look at the Rifle, Scope, Mounts, Fouled barrel, Loading tech., Shooting tech, Shooting rest, etc. etc.

Tell us more about your rifle, scope, loads etc. Then maybe we can help you zero in on your accuracy problem.
Old 12-15-2007, 02:08 PM
Nontypical Buck

The only thing I crimp other than shotshells are my handgun loads.
Old 12-15-2007, 02:13 PM
Fork Horn