Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Firearms Forum > Reloading
 When is rifle brass used up? >

When is rifle brass used up?

Community
Reloading Share techniques for reloading, where to get the hottest in reloading equipment and learn how to reload from fellow hunters.

When is rifle brass used up?

Old 04-11-2007, 06:12 PM
Fork Horn

Default When is rifle brass used up?

Greetings, I have a brass question. Are there any subtle signs that I should look for that will tell me when its time to retire my brass? I am still kinda new at this and I reload for my 22-250. Any help and guidance would be greatly appreciated, thanks!
Old 04-11-2007, 07:07 PM

Default RE: When is rifle brass used up?

When its time to trim them for the 5th time,don't.They have stretched too much,the brass has moved from the head area of the case to the mouth.You may also be able to see a ring just above the solid head on the case body.Or the necks will split when you fire them,not all in one batch will split at the same time.But when some of them do it you can be reasonably sure the rest will the next time.If you pressure is a little to high the primer pocket will get to big to hold a primer.If you can load at the range you shoot at take one case and shoot it til it gives up.this will give you a good idea of what to look for.
Old 04-11-2007, 07:14 PM
Fork Horn

Thats what I needed to check on, I have heard about the ring that forms just above the head. I have already reloaded these cases 5-6 times and some of those rings are starting to show up now. Obviously some are more visible than others. Primers still fit tight but that was one thing I have noticed that was different, that ring. Thanks for the info!
Old 04-11-2007, 07:31 PM
bigcountry