Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Firearms Forum > Reloading
 How to start reloading >

How to start reloading

Community
Reloading Share techniques for reloading, where to get the hottest in reloading equipment and learn how to reload from fellow hunters.

How to start reloading

Old 08-31-2006, 08:05 PM

Default How to start reloading

I am interested in begining to reload for a 45-70 to save money and just for fun. I have never done any reloading before and have no idea where to start. What equipment do i need to start reloading? I found this kit and wondered whatelse is needed on top of it. http://www.midwayusa.com/eproductpage.exe/showproduct?saleitemid=149097

Any other advice? thanks

Old 08-31-2006, 08:33 PM
Nontypical Buck

Default RE: How to start reloading

Istarted withthat same kit and still use most of it 5 years latter. I would suggest though that you try to find someone in your area that already reloads to mentor you through the initial learning curve. There are things that experienced reloaders can teach you that will help save time and money as you get into this hobby.

Many will say you need to spend more money for better quality equipment but in my opinion, that will come in time as you get some rounds under your belt. I do think the Lee powder measure is the weakest tool in the kit but that being said, I am still using mine after several 1000 rounds and am just now starting to think about a replacement. The rest of the kit works just fine and will last for many years.

You of course will need some other things that are caliber specific such as dies, trimmer studs, bullets, powder, and primers. I would also suggest getting a powder trickler to use to tweek the powder level on the scale to the correct level, I do this on all my rifle loads but not neccessarily all my pistol loads.