Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Firearms Forum > Reloading
 .30 for 300 RUM and 30-06 >

.30 for 300 RUM and 30-06

Community
Reloading Share techniques for reloading, where to get the hottest in reloading equipment and learn how to reload from fellow hunters.

.30 for 300 RUM and 30-06

Old 10-24-2005, 04:46 PM
Fork Horn

Default .30 for 300 RUM and 30-06

Hello,

I hate to say it, but I am also new to reloading, so I apoligize in advance for any "dumb" questions. I just bought a Lee turret press and the collett and factory crimp dies for my 300rum and 30-06. I plan to hunt whitetail in WI and will be shooting less than 250 yds.

I would like to load a 165 0r 168 Barnes TSX bullet. I have read that H4350 at approx. 57 grains would be a good place to start for the 30-06. Can the H4350 be used for both? Because one is a magnum and one isn't, do I need different primers?

I do realize the 300 RUM is over kill for Whitetail, but I bought the gun cheap and would like to shoot it and don't Elk hunt yet (Bought a 700 Rem LSS with a VX III fired 6 times for $575.00) I thought the 165 may reduce some of the recoil.

I am a Police sniper and am particular about accuracy, which is why I began to reload. Both guns are Rem 700's.

I'm guessing I may be better off loading the RUM with different powder, bullets, and primers butI thought I'd check. I plan to neck size only and trim.I still have todo some research on proper bullet seating so the bullet is .050 per Barnes reccomendations.

Any help would be appreciated! (My 300 RUM brass is Remington, and my 30-06 is Fed. premium)

Steve
Old 10-24-2005, 04:54 PM
bigcountry

Default RE: .30 for 300 RUM and 30-06

Sure can use it for both. You sure won't get much velocity with 4350 in the RUM but it was accurate. I have used IMR4350 for both. Think I was loading 150gr bullistic tip at over 3600fps. Would have to double check my data. But just did it to see if I could.

Old 10-24-2005, 05:14 PM
Nontypical Buck