Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Firearms Forum > Reloading
 7mm Rem Mag Recipe needed >

7mm Rem Mag Recipe needed

Community
Reloading Share techniques for reloading, where to get the hottest in reloading equipment and learn how to reload from fellow hunters.

7mm Rem Mag Recipe needed

Old 09-12-2005, 06:44 PM

Default 7mm Rem Mag Recipe needed

I'm fairly new to reloading and I need a good (excellent)recipe for my Winchester 7mm Rem Mag (26" Barrel). Any suggestions?

One problem I'm having is that the cheap, store bought, Remington "Core Lokt" shoots the lights out and I can't even come close to a reload that shoots as well. This off-the-shelf stuff will shoot a 1/2" group @ 100 yd (and that's good for my skill level) and it seems like I should be able to find a recipe that shoots at least as good. I've followed a few of the recommended loads but have had pretty bad results (2" group @ 100 yd).

I've been using the following materials:
- 160 gr Sierra spbt
- Reloader #19 or IMR 4350 powders
- Federal #215 primers
- Remmington and Federal once fired brass
- Overall length 3.26"

I've been restingthe bullet directly on the rifling. I know it because I have to work a little harder to close the bolt action. Remmington factory loads have an overall legth of 3.16", could this be a culprit? Also, the recipes I've followed are for a 24" barrel and I have a 26" barrel, could this affect things? Any help would be appreciated...
Old 09-12-2005, 07:23 PM
Giant Nontypical

Default RE: 7mm Rem Mag Recipe needed