Community
Northeast ME, NH, VT, NY, CT, RI, MA, PA, DE, WV, MD, NJ Remember, the Regional forums are for hunting topics only.

Pa flintlockers ?

Old 12-31-2014, 10:55 AM
Nontypical Buck

Default Pa flintlockers ?

i figured I'd ask pa hunters because they are most likely the experts on the subject...

I'm new to flintlock muzzloaders and was looking for info...

I'd like to get a desent flintlock and was wondering if you guys could recommend one...

I'm thinking about the Lyman's Great Plains rifle in 54 cal... I'm thinkingatch and ball also...

Any info is appreciated...
Old 12-31-2014, 11:43 PM
Nontypical Buck

Lymans or TC Hawkens.
Old 01-02-2015, 01:29 PM
Boone & Crockett

Longbeard - you can do a lot worse than the Lyman Great Plains .54 cal flintlock. They are a good rifle and the .54 is plenty for whitetail with the PRB.
The Deerstalker is also a good choice for the short ranges you have here in PA. But my preference in production flinters goes to the T/C Hawken or Renegade. You can still find them around on the used gun racks. And if you can find a Green Mountain drop in barrel for it you will have a great rifle.
Old 01-03-2015, 02:40 AM
Typical Buck

IMHO,The GPR is a very nice looking gun and can shoot well. I have one and a Deer Stalker.
The GPR is kind of long and bulky to carry around in our Pa. woods? My Deer Stalker will shoot just as well as the GPR at the ranges we have to shoot in our woods!
Also,the Deer Stalker is about $125 less than a GPR.
Old 01-15-2015, 03:34 PM
Spike

Got a GPR in 54 cal prb and its great to shoot.
Old 01-15-2015, 06:14 PM
Typical Buck

FWIW-

I wouldn't want to lug my GPR around afield, day after day!

I was checking out the Traditions PA Pellet Accelerator a few weeks back; while it isn't strictly old school, I think there's a lot to be said for it as a hunting rifle.
Old 01-15-2015, 06:39 PM
Typical Buck

You may also want to check out the ML's at RMC http://www.rmcoxyoke.com/inc/sdetail...le/11752/11755