Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Regional Forums > Midwest
Corn Fed Midwest Deer >

Corn Fed Midwest Deer

Community
Midwest OH, IN, IL, WI, MI, MN, IA, MO, KS, ND, SD, NE Remember the Regional Forums are for Hunting Topics only.

Corn Fed Midwest Deer

Old 07-10-2013, 01:51 PM
Spike

Default Corn Fed Midwest Deer

I am new to the private land corn fed deer land type. I have hunted in upper michigan all deep woods deer prior now hunting acres and acres of farm land in wisconsin, any advice to a new bow hunter hunting fresh land. Not used to this type of pressure or open areas. HELP!!
Old 07-10-2013, 03:11 PM
Nontypical Buck

Do you have any arial map if the area (roads and such blacked out)? If its flat land, I find that wooded funnels between ag fields are a great bet. Also, locate the bedding areas of both bucks and does and try to hunt the outer edges of those using the wind to your favor. A lot of people set up on field edges waiting for the deer to come out into the fields. I did that for a long time but then learned that the bigger bucks use the woods to travel and most likely come out into the fields until after dark. Find a good wooded travel corridor and set up a few cameras and you'll learn a lot pretty quick.

The first few times out hunting, don't think of it as 100% hunting, think of it as hunting and scouting as well. Look for where the deer are moving, directions they are coming from and wind direction and you will be able to learn pretty quick.

I have basically moved off of ag fields for buck hunting. The majority of my stands are now on travel corridors in from ag fields trying to get bucks staging before they head out under nightfall.

Good luck, I'm sure you'll have great success!
Old 07-10-2013, 06:21 PM
Spike