Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Regional Forums > Midwest
Youth hunt at Lake Le-Aqua-Na >

Youth hunt at Lake Le-Aqua-Na

Community
Midwest OH, IN, IL, WI, MI, MN, IA, MO, KS, ND, SD, NE Remember the Regional Forums are for Hunting Topics only.

Youth hunt at Lake Le-Aqua-Na

Old 10-28-2009, 05:35 PM
Fork Horn

Default Youth hunt at Lake Le-Aqua-Na

My youngest son drew a tag for the youth hunt in Lena for this year. I met with the Park Ranger a few weeks ago and he showed me where we will be hunting (the hunting is done only from ground blinds and the youths must be accompanied by an adult). I am going to set up the blind this weekend. The area we are hunting is mostly pines we are directly accross an access road from some hardwoods.
We will be hunting the 1st Illinois gun season, hopefully the rut wil still be on.

This is my first time using a ground blind, its an Ameristep doghouse so it is roomy enough for two and the window heights are good for shooting off of shooting sticks.

Any setup tips? I was going to unzip the windows a little all the way around so the deer get used to it looking the same way for the three weeks until we hunt. What else should I consider?
Old 10-28-2009, 06:55 PM
Nontypical Buck

I'd find as much downed branches as you can and brush it in with that. You probably can't cut and green limbs but if you can break up the pattern with wind blown limbs the deer will grow accustomed to it a lot quicker. People say when you put up a ground blind your changing around a deers living room so they can tell pretty quick. The more you "Brush it in" the better.

Also, I don't know what chairs you are using but Id try to get them as scent free as possible. I use those collapsing camping chairs (the ones that fit in a bag) and try to leave them outdoors for a few weeks as well as spray them down with scent free spray. People take so much time making there clothes scent free then forget to make everything else scent free they bring in the woods!