Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Regional Forums > Midwest
 Future exhange student needing info about US hunting >

Future exhange student needing info about US hunting

Midwest OH, IN, IL, WI, MI, MN, IA, MO, KS, ND, SD, NE Remember the Regional Forums are for Hunting Topics only.

Future exhange student needing info about US hunting

Old 05-30-2009, 03:11 PM

Default Future exhange student needing info about US hunting

Hi!

I'm a student from Europe (non-english-speaking-country), and I'm going to study at a high school in Missouri from August '09 to May '10.

Therefore, I have a couple of questions regarding this matter, and I was hoping for someone in here to give me some good answers?

1: In the time when I'm gonna be in the US (told you earlier), what can I hunt then? Here in Europe, I've hunted Ptarmigans in the mountains and Willow grouses in some valleys (or actually, it was in the mountain as well) and hares. What has Missouri to offer me?

2: How is it with weapons? Whats the age limit for owning weapons in america (especially MO)? Ive heard that the age of majority in the US is 21....? Anyway, I dont turn 18 before august '10 so i suppose buying my own weapon isn't going to be the case. And anyway, where would I store it? On my dorm at the most christian school in the god blessed world? Do I need to attend any cources to get to fire weapons, both at a range and when hunting?

3: Is hunting commercialized in the US? Here in europe, at least in my country, you have to make all the appointments yourselv, you gotta call the owner of the land, you gotta plan the route yourself, and generally, you pretty much need to know the country as your own wallet... Is it like you just call to an office and order an area for some hours at a certain time of the day?

4: Please, feel free to correct my english. I'm going over to the US in only 2.5 months, and my language really need to get in shape... [&o]

Regards (or whatever you say)
Arne
Old 05-30-2009, 04:03 PM