Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Regional Forums > Midwest
 New to Hunting - IL >

New to Hunting - IL

Community
Midwest OH, IN, IL, WI, MI, MN, IA, MO, KS, ND, SD, NE Remember the Regional Forums are for Hunting Topics only.

New to Hunting - IL

Old 01-23-2009, 12:27 PM

Default New to Hunting - IL

Hello,

I am new to hunting and was looking for some advice from the experienced. I normally spend my time bowfishing, with the occasional bass fishing trip in thrown in.

I've never really done anything besides some target shooting off of the water, so I'm not very in touch with the local hunting community. I'm located near the Joliet area, so I do have some access to the public lands in the surrounding area. I do not have any private land access lined up. I currently own a remington 870 and a mosin-nagant 91/30, the only bow I have is an AMS Fishhawk. The 870 is currently setup for home defense and I doubt a world war II russian rifle is going to be useful hunting in IL.

So more to the point, I was wondering what type of hunting would be best for rookies that would like to learn and become involved in the local hunting community. Also, what kind of equipment needs am I looking at, and does anyone have suggestion on that?
Old 01-24-2009, 03:26 AM
Nontypical Buck

Default RE: New to Hunting - IL

Bowhunting would be you best bet in Illinois. The season is 3 1/2 months long, with a couple weeks of firearms thrown in the middle here and there.

Yiou'd have to start with a decent bow, then it's a matter of getting out and finding deer. Not too easy on public land, especially anywhere north in the state. Lasalle state fish and wildlife area is a great spot. So is Kankakee River State park. Kankakee isn't too far from you.