Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Regional Forums > Midwest
 Question for Michigan Bear hunters >

Question for Michigan Bear hunters

Community
Midwest OH, IN, IL, WI, MI, MN, IA, MO, KS, ND, SD, NE Remember the Regional Forums are for Hunting Topics only.

Question for Michigan Bear hunters

Old 03-21-2006, 07:53 AM

Default Question for Michigan Bear hunters

Can anyone help me out. I am considering applying for aBear tag this year but haven't got a clue as where to go or such. Just getting started in Bear hunting. Any help would be much appreciated......locations....assistance in setting up......etc.

Thanks!!
Old 03-21-2006, 08:37 AM
Nontypical Buck

Default RE: Question for Michigan Bear hunters

Lone_Wolf...first thing you have to do is to apply for the tag. Go to http://www.michigan.gov/dnr/0,1607,7-153-10363_10856---,00.htmlThis page tells season dates and links to the license page. Applications aren't available until April 15. I have been applying for 3 years with my brother and dad and we have yet to get a tag, so hopefully this year we can pull one. There are definitely a ton of bears to be had though pretty much state-wide especially in the southern counties of the UP. Good luck in the tag drawing!
Old 03-21-2006, 01:36 PM

Michigan has a preference point system for bear tags so it will be difficult to pull a tag this year if you do not have any points. However there are a couple of late season hunts that you have a decent chance to draw. Check out the regs when they come out in april and it lists in their the odds for each hunt. Don't apply for a low percentage one as you won't draw without points.

I would recommend that you start banking points, you can apply for just a point and it cost just $4. This way in a few years you will have a wider range of hunts that you have a chance to draw. I currently have 4 points right now and will probably apply for a point again this year.
Old 03-22-2006, 08:27 AM