Hunting Gear Discussion Clothing, stands, ATV's, optics, scents, calls, etc... read the latest reviews of hot new hunting gear items here.

Skinner Knives?

Old 05-28-2011, 05:10 PM
Spike

Default Skinner Knives?

looking for gift for long time hunter dad. Saw this Damascus, wondering if it's just pretty or does the job. Any recommendations?
Thanks
Old 06-21-2011, 09:09 AM
Spike

Havalon has some cool knifes...They are basically scalpels with extra long blades so they are VERY SHARP. I love them because I am not good at sharpening knives. Check them out.
Old 06-21-2011, 12:59 PM
Spike

When I was a butcher we used Forschner spoon knives for skinning. They are the best skinning knife I've ever used, continue to use them today. I prefer the 5 inch offering for what is worth.
Old 06-22-2011, 09:02 AM
Nontypical Buck

There are tons of options for a good quality skinning knife. Prices can run into the hundreds. The Damacus look is mainly for "beauty" and does not necessarily indicate "quality". You will probably get plenty of great advice. The "spoon" design butcher as mentioned above is a fine style for skinning. A mistake that I see many folks make when buying a "skinning" knife is to buy one with an overly large blade. Keeping it about 4" - 5" long is plenty big enough and easier to handle than some "Semi-Rambo" sized knife!

Buck brand knives are a good value in my book. Their "Alpha" fixed blade and folding knife, with the "gut-hook" is a decent design for skinning medium sized critters such as deer and feral hogs. They run about $100 - $125. A gut-hook often comes in handy, though is not absolutely necessary. I like having one. Either of these Buck knives are fine for skinning.
Old 06-22-2011, 02:57 PM
Nontypical Buck

Real quality hand made Damascus is expensive, on the order of $100 per inch of blade for good stuff. I think you can do better. Look into some custom examples here.
http://www.bladeforums.com/forums/fo...e-Fixed-Blades
Old 07-16-2011, 09:24 AM