Community
Hunting Gear Discussion Clothing, stands, ATV's, optics, scents, calls, etc... read the latest reviews of hot new hunting gear items here.

Portable Tree Stand

Old 08-27-2009, 08:16 PM
Nontypical Buck

Default Portable Tree Stand

I was thinking of getting a tree stand. I've never used one before, mostly because I hunt public land and didn't want to lug one around.

Well, I'm looking for a light weight, easy to set up, portable stand. If I could find one in a decent price range, that is easy to set up and carry in, I figure it's time to try one.

I typically hike about 3 to 5 miles when I hunt. Carry a butt pack style pack, and like to keep my load out to around 30 lbs. Wouldn't mind adding 10 lbs or so for a good stand.

I've looked at several, but I'm new to these things and wondered if anyone here had any good suggestions.

Obviously, I can't leave it up year round. So I'd like one that I could put up quickly and quietly. Lockable, so I can leave it for the week or so that I'm hunting. And is designed to be humped around the woods. And, of course, I'd like it to be of good quality and durable.

Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated. Thanks.
Old 08-28-2009, 03:06 AM
Dominant Buck

Thumbs up

Summit OpenShot Deluxe climber, it weighs 15 lbs and costs about $230. It's great for bowhunting, and an excellent all around choice for a packable stand.

http://www.cabelas.com/cabelas/en/te...set=ISO-8859-1
Old 08-28-2009, 03:40 AM
Typical Buck