Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > General Hunting Forums > Hunting Gear Discussion
Lone Wolf Climbing Stand Field Report >

Lone Wolf Climbing Stand Field Report

Community
Hunting Gear Discussion Clothing, stands, ATV's, optics, scents, calls, etc... read the latest reviews of hot new hunting gear items here.

Lone Wolf Climbing Stand Field Report

Old 01-01-2003, 09:04 AM
Fork Horn

Default Lone Wolf Climbing Stand Field Report

Before you go giving any value to my opinions you should probably know a thing or two about me. Born & raised in WV, bowhunting since the age of 15 (39 now). Air Force F-16 pilot by trade currently living in AZ. Never arrowed a P&Y buck but rarely get skunked for the season. Most of my hunting is in WV during the rut.

Without further delay:

LONE WOLF ALPHA HAND CLIMBER
Stats:
Price: $249 (Autumnchase)
Weight measured at 15.5lbs.
Platform 191/2 x 30 (rated to 300lbs)
Seat/Climber 13x16

These are the things I think are important about a treestand, in no particular order: portability, quietness, usability, stability, comfort, cost, looks, ruggedness/durability. I’ll evaluate them all. First a few pics.
Here’s the front with the stand in the travel configuration.

The back.

And the side view.

Cost: Not a cheap stand. I got a good deal from Autumnchase but their prices are different now. The stand lists for $289 on the Lone Wolf web site and typically go for around $260-270 (plus shipping) on ebay although you don’t see them on there that much. The stand comes with a bungee used for holding the seat to the base when transporting, wraps around your feet when climbing and secures the seat strap to the tree when you’re at height and all set up. Also included are some instructions, backpack straps and a thick foam seat pad with Velcro straps to fasten it to the seat frame.