Community
Hunting Dogs Still looking for that perfect hunting companion? Well look no further, you've come to the right place.

need bird dog

Old 03-18-2005, 02:41 PM

Default need bird dog

i'm new to bird hunting doing mostly phesent. and so o whats a good dog to use for that.... not going water fowl hunting just fields
Old 03-18-2005, 06:27 PM

Default RE: need bird dog

I have an excellent liiter of yellow lab pups with pointing bloodlines and other championship lines. My ad is in here . It starts with AKC lab pups ready middle of april. If any questions just reply to me or email me . [email protected]
Old 03-18-2005, 09:06 PM

I am not going to try to sell you a dog.. But, I do have my opinion. I hope that this helps your decision.....

If you are looking for a pheasant dog, my suggestion is one of 3 breeds. 1) The English Pointer. They are hard headed dogs and very hard to ruin. They have instinct to point like nothing can beat. For anyone that is a "first time" pointing dog owner, I normally suggest the EP.

Now, I also suggest a GSP (German Shorthaired Pointer) and the Viszla. These two are versatile in their abilities. They come out of the womb pointing and just keep on going! The GSP and the Viszla are awesome house companions and work great in the field all in one dog.

I have owned, raised and trained GSPs and Weimaraners for over 11 years. I have been working with other peoples pointing and retrieving dogs for 8 years. I have seen many owners make mistakes as to the type of breed that they need for what they want the dog to do. I highly reccomend a pointing breed for pheasant hunting. If you are looking more toward the flushing breeds, a Lab or the English Springer Spaniel.

I hope that I did not offend anyone, but since I have been working with pheasant/quail and chucker dogs for many years, this is just my opinion. I have seen very bad things from un-informed "new" owners of hunting dogs.