Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > General Hunting Forums > Hogs and Exotics
000 buckshot recommendation for hogs >

000 buckshot recommendation for hogs

Community
Hogs and Exotics Gun or bow, you can stretch your season and fill the freezer with wild hogs and an assortment of exotics.

000 buckshot recommendation for hogs

Old 02-06-2012, 07:39 PM
Spike

Default 000 buckshot recommendation for hogs

Hello all, new member of the forum here, after browsing many interesting topics/posts over the past two years or so as a guest. I plan to do some hog hunting in North FL with my H&R singleshot shotgun. It has a 32 inch barrel with a fixed full choke. Been using a shotgun for deer off and on all my life and had good results after doing extensive patterning, buckshot size, trying different chokes, and most of all keeping a range of 40 yds or under. That being said here is my dilema, I have no experience on hunting hogs with buckshot. I've tried patterning both Remington and Federal 2 3/4 000 buck with not such luck other that 25 yards or so. The pattern is like 18-20 inches with alot of gaps in it. I don't want to use a smaller size because I know some of the bigger hogs can be extremely tough to penetrate deep enough to make a kill shot. Any help on this and possibly a different brand/size of 000 that might work with this particular gun? Thanks
Old 02-11-2012, 04:09 PM
Nontypical Buck

Take a look at Hevi-Shot Dead Coyote in T shot. It is heavier than lead and at close range it is REALLY deadly on yotes, blows through them like they are made of cardboard. I have shot hogs with 00 Buck and slugs but not with the DC. I feel that it will take care of what you need. If nothing else, back it up with 00 or 000 buck and you make your own conclusion!!! Let us know back.
Old 02-11-2012, 05:04 PM
Spike

I will, appreciate the tips! I am one day going to try some hevishot 00 buckshot out on the patterning board, it seems like some inivated stuff.
Old 02-12-2012, 03:27 PM