Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > General Hunting Forums > Hogs and Exotics
 Bringing younger generation into hunting >

Bringing younger generation into hunting

Hogs and Exotics Gun or bow, you can stretch your season and fill the freezer with wild hogs and an assortment of exotics.

Bringing younger generation into hunting

Old 12-30-2005, 05:50 AM

Default Bringing younger generation into hunting

I am posting this to let everyone in the hunting communities know about a unique attempt to insure that the traditions of hunting remain strong in the younger generations. I am a 25 yr old student at UW-Madison and an avid, extensively experienced hunter. Together with several other students, I have started a hunting and fishing club on campus that is endorsed by the university. We have approximately 30 members right now and are actively recruiting more people this spring. We have about an equal mix of active hunters and people who want to get involved in hunting as well as equal ratios of guys to girls. Since this fall was our first, our hunting opportunities were somewhat limited. I got in contact with the DNR's crop damage program and managed to get about 6-7 farms in the Madison area that ended up playing host to approximately 10 hunters intermittently as classes and work schedules allowed. There were also a limited number of waterfowl hunts, but due to equipment restraints, this opportunity was not very extensively explored. As far as I know, this is one of the very few collegiate opportunities that the hunting community has to recruit younger members that do not have families who hunt. Because this is such a rare opportunity, we are looking for any and all kinds of help that anyone can give (e.g. land, equipment, personal time, etc), but below are a few specific requests as well as my contact information.

I am posting this message for several reasons: