Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Firearms Forum > Gunsmithing
Converting Stag Model 7 to .308?/.223? >

Converting Stag Model 7 to .308?/.223?

Gunsmithing Discuss repairs, modifications, designs, or building firearms here.

Converting Stag Model 7 to .308?/.223?

Old 08-06-2014, 02:58 AM
  #1  
Fork Horn
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 386
Default Converting Stag Model 7 to .308?/.223?

I have a Stag Model 7 (Hunter 6.8 SPC). I know very little about AR platforms. My understanding is that you can buy "uppers" and convert guns to a different caliber without much smithing knowhow.
Can I convert this to a .308 or even a .223? If so, exactly what would I need to get to complete this mod?
I have some skills working on guns. I also have a good friend who is VERY knowledgeable in smithing.
dig4gold is offline  
Old 08-06-2014, 03:52 AM
  #2  
Fork Horn
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 188
Default

The 6.8 and .223 calibers use the same lower, and you just change out the upper by pulling 2 pins. Very easy to do.
The .308 requires a different lower made to accept the longer cartridges.
Major Woods is offline  
Old 08-06-2014, 05:24 AM
  #3  
Fork Horn
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 386
Default

Oh sure . . . that makes sense. So .223 would be more practical/affordable.
dig4gold is offline  
Old 08-21-2014, 10:54 AM
  #4  
Nontypical Buck
 
Nomercy448's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Kansas
Posts: 3,717
Default

To convert a 6.8SPC to a 223rem/5.56, you can either swap uppers and magazines and just do an "upper swap" that is temporary, or you can swap the bolt (not bolt carrier group), barrel, and magazine to do a more permanent swap.

Depending on the deals you wait for and what you want in your upper, sometimes it's cheaper to find a cheap complete upper than it is to buy a barrel, but more often than not, if you're comfortable swapping barrel (honestly not difficult if you have a torque wrench, armorers wrench, and vice), then you usually buy a barrel cheaper than a complete upper.
Nomercy448 is offline  
Old 08-21-2014, 01:52 PM
  #5  
Nontypical Buck
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Eastern wv
Posts: 2,929
Default

if you want 308 capability in the AR15 (the 308 is a longer action AR-10) you could get a 300 Olympic Magnum, but you need a complete upper and must reload, also you could get an upper in one of the wssm's, I have a 25 wssm and its one helluva deer rifle
RR
Ridge Runner is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.