Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Firearms Forum > Gunsmithing
Floating Rem. 700 SPS 30-06 >

Floating Rem. 700 SPS 30-06

Community
Gunsmithing Discuss repairs, modifications, designs, or building firearms here.

Floating Rem. 700 SPS 30-06

Old 11-21-2011, 06:10 AM
Spike

Default Floating Rem. 700 SPS 30-06

Now my gun by no means is not accurate nor am I not pleased with it. But lets face it if the barrel isn't floated then there is still room for improvement. Im looking at using Devcon Titanium for the bedding material. Now I have never done this before but have watched a series of videos and I feel pretty confident that I could do it.

Im just curious if there are any of you who have any experience with this and might have any suggestions or pointers when doing this?

Thank you all for the help.
Old 11-21-2011, 07:19 AM
Nontypical Buck

You will want a dremel, they're mighty handy. Make sure you create many mechanical locking pionts for the epoxy! Use oil based modeling clay and make sure to fill in any holes that could lock the rifle into the stock. There really isn't much to it, the vids may have covered everything. Do you have any concerns?
Old 11-21-2011, 07:26 AM
Spike

Don't think I have any concerns as of now. I do have a Dremmel and has been very handy over the years. Do you have any recommendations as to what to use as a release agent? I think I know what you mean by mechanical locking points. By that do you mean ways for the epoxy to hold better or "lock" onto/into its surrounding material....if that made it clear...lol

As reference the videos I watched were on youtube done by "wildernesseducation". Hes a Scottish lad.
Old 11-21-2011, 12:47 PM
Typical Buck