Community
Guns Like firearms themselves, there's a wide variety of opinions on what's the best gun.

reblueing

Old 02-16-2005, 08:09 PM
Fork Horn

Default reblueing

my grandpa left me an Ithica 12 gauge pump shotgun when he passed away. the shotgun has lots of sentamental value to me. the last time i took it out of the case it was rusted beyond belief. i'm not experienced on reblueing but i've heard its not that tough. should i have it done professional or do it myself? not sure how much it would cost. thanks
Old 02-16-2005, 08:58 PM
Nontypical Buck

Default RE: reblueing

If you want to read my opinion...Rusted beyond belief is pretty serious and should be reblued professionally.You are right reblueing is not a hard thing to do if the finish is fading, but when heavy rust is involved it another matter altogether.
To prevent this in the future, clean it, dry it ,keep the gun out of the case, let air circulate so the gun doesn't sweat.You may even want to invest in a gun cabinet, if this gun is that important to you.
There is a product I use called Tetra Gun it is a lubricant that is sprayed on the metal parts and gently rubbed in.The lubricant is absorbed into the metal for added protection against rust and at the same time helps repel dust.I use this instead of oil when I put my guns away.
Old 02-17-2005, 08:32 AM
Fork Horn

thanks.
Old 02-17-2005, 10:28 AM
Giant Nontypical

Anything of that value should be rebued by a Proffessional. Do a Search on Glenrock Blue they have many different ways of bluing a gun . Hope that helps
Old 02-17-2005, 06:58 PM
Fork Horn