Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Firearms Forum > Guns
 Which Pistol To Choose? >

Which Pistol To Choose?

Community
Guns Like firearms themselves, there's a wide variety of opinions on what's the best gun.

Which Pistol To Choose?

Old 01-23-2005, 12:11 PM

Default Which Pistol To Choose?

Im looking for a good quality 9mm pistol for targets and possible home defence. I have looked at the glock 17, taurus pt99, Steyr M-1a, S&W model 910. So far the glock seems to be my favorite but I'm hoping for imput from people with more knowledge on this subject matter!
Old 01-23-2005, 12:35 PM
Fork Horn

Default RE: Which Pistol To Choose?

I'm a Law Enforcement firearms instructor. I've seen the good, the bad and the ugly in combat handguns. Glock makes a fine handgun, in terms of function and reliability they are top notch. As far as cosmetics, remember they are not made to be pretty, they are made to work. Sig also makes a nice handgun, I have a P226R .40/.357SIG great shooting gun. H&K makes a nice gun. It's hard to go wrong w/ these 3 (Glock, Sig, HK)

The 9mm is a nice round w/ the new ammo avaliable and don't let anyone tell you different. The newer 9mm +P+ rounds are smoking! The Winchester Ranger 127gr "T" series has a muzzel velocity of 1250 fps.

Take a look at the .357SIG also. It puts up some nice numbers.

Handguns just punch holes anyways. There is no such thing as knock down power, this "ain't" the movies. It's all about how fast you can get it to go and how fast you can get it to stop. Velocity and expansion......transfer of energy.

Nothing beats a shotgun for home defence
Old 01-23-2005, 12:39 PM
Fork Horn

Oh ya my suggestion, given your intended purpose would be a Glock 17.
Old 01-23-2005, 12:41 PM
Boone & Crockett