Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Firearms Forum > Guns
 12 guage shotgun to slug gun? >

12 guage shotgun to slug gun?

Community
Guns Like firearms themselves, there's a wide variety of opinions on what's the best gun.

12 guage shotgun to slug gun?

Old 11-07-2004, 01:10 AM

Default 12 guage shotgun to slug gun?

Hi, I have a standard benelli 12 guage shotgun. I'm wondering what if anything needs to be done to it to be able to shoot slugs. Or, do I need to buy a special shotgun designed for shooting slugs?

I'm brand new to hunting and am wanting to explore my options.

Thanks,

Matt J.
Old 11-07-2004, 01:37 AM

Default RE: 12 guage shotgun to slug gun?

First which model of Benelli do you own?

Second, it depends on what you want the gun to do. You can shoot regular non-saboted slugs through it if it has #1) an improved cylanider fixed choke or #2) if you buy either an improved cylanider choke or rifled choke for it. You can get decent groups with the "old" type slugs and it's good for 50-60 yard shooting on deer.

You can also buy a rifled barrel for it and shoot saboted slugs. This will allow you to move your yardage out especially if you add a scope or a good pair of sights. Ithaca makes a rifled barrel for the Benelli Nova and it sales for about $150.
Old 11-07-2004, 01:51 AM

Thanks for the reply. I have a benelli nova 12 ga.

As far as that other stuff, I have no idea what you're talking about. I'm brand new to this. I do have a couple chokes that came with the gun, but I don't know if they will qualify. As far as the type of slug you mentioned, I don't know anything about that. Sounds like I have lots of learning to do before I start on this adventure.

Thanks,

Matt
Old 11-07-2004, 09:05 AM
Typical Buck

Matt welcome aboard believe me this is a great place to learn I've been hunting and shooting for 25 years and i learn something new here every day