Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Firearms Forum > Guns
 Weaver style rings on a Savage 93R17-FVSS >

Weaver style rings on a Savage 93R17-FVSS

Community
Guns Like firearms themselves, there's a wide variety of opinions on what's the best gun.

Weaver style rings on a Savage 93R17-FVSS

Old 02-13-2004, 05:59 PM
Nontypical Buck

Default Weaver style rings on a Savage 93R17-FVSS

Several months ago I bought a Savage 93R17-FVSS which is a heavy barreled 17 HMR.I was going to mount a 3x9x40mm scope today. I've always used medium rings for a 40mm scope. The Savage comes with Weaver style bases installed.I ordered a set of Weaver Medium rings.The scope objective rests on the barrel. I just ordered a set of Millet High Angle-Loc rings instead of the Weaver again. The Weaver rings are marked Medium on the package.What gives here? Do you need to go the next step up height wise with Weaver style rings?This is my first time using Weaver style rings.Could it be that the Savage having a Bull Barrel is causing the difference in height?I'm just curious. The Millets will solve the problem. I would like some opinions in case I ever need to use Weaver style rings again. Thanks for any information you might have.
Ruger Redhawk
Old 02-13-2004, 07:00 PM

Default RE: Weaver style rings on a Savage 93R17-FVSS

you must be mounting a scope with an adjustable objective,,, had the same thing happen myself, any time you have an adjustable objective you have to use the next higher mounts. congrats on the new .17, just shot mine for the first time today,, accuracy!!!
Old 02-14-2004, 01:46 PM
Nontypical Buck