Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Firearms Forum > Guns
 HOW TO STAIN A STOCK THAT HAS BEEN WORE? >

HOW TO STAIN A STOCK THAT HAS BEEN WORE?

Community
Guns Like firearms themselves, there's a wide variety of opinions on what's the best gun.

HOW TO STAIN A STOCK THAT HAS BEEN WORE?

Old 01-17-2004, 07:32 PM

Default HOW TO STAIN A STOCK THAT HAS BEEN WORE?

With the model 788 Rem. rifle I just bought today, the barrel and action is in good shape, however, the stock is wore bad. It does not have any gashes or cuts in it just the finish is wore off.
I wanted to know how to refinish it beings I have never done any kind of finish work before. Also, I was told that after sanding it would turn out light colored because of the type of wood it was. I was wanting to know if there is a dark stain out there that the stock would take? Not cherry but something dark like it that rifles come in usually? thanks.
Old 01-18-2004, 05:42 AM
Fork Horn

Default RE: HOW TO STAIN A STOCK THAT HAS BEEN WORE?

I just bought a 788 yesterday 1/17 .. and the gun sounds like it is in the same shape as yours and I want to refinish the stock also .. I have a friend that is a body man and I had him spray a couple of stocks with what he called "bumper paint " they are black in color and have a nice synthetic look to them so I think I might do that .. If interested I could ask what he would charge you .. Back to the stain you will need to sand your stock then go to a hardware store pick a color stain then coat it with a clear sealer wich you should be able to get at a gun shop ..Bill
Old 01-18-2004, 08:35 AM
Nontypical Buck

I'm guessing that the stocks used on the 788 are Birch...maybe maple but I think birch....and the good news is that while they need to be stained for a dark finish, the pores of the wood are small compared to walnut.