Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Firearms Forum > Guns
 Using " utilities"  for hunting. >

Using " utilities" for hunting.

Community
Guns Like firearms themselves, there's a wide variety of opinions on what's the best gun.

Using " utilities" for hunting.

Old 11-19-2003, 06:24 AM

Default Using " utilities" for hunting.

Being a certified commercial pilot, I came up with a crazy idea one huting season. I decided to go to the local airport (Southern Pines, NC) and rent a small aircraft for deer spotting at low altitude.

I took the plan and took off one afternoon and flew to the areas I knew I had seen big bucks, after doing passes at around 700 feet I started seeing their bedding areas and trails better. After noting the areas of most deer activity, I headed home and got ready to hunt the next morning.

Just as I expected, the deer started moving around the areas I had flown over and I got the chance to take a old mature 8-point.

I have a picture here of me in a King Air flying to Texas...I just thought I would share this experience with you guys! I am the one to the right.

Old 11-19-2003, 06:44 AM
Fork Horn

Default RE: Using " utilities" for hunting.

In Colorado (I presume most other states also),

" It is against the law to:

6) Use aircraft to hunt, to direct hunters on the ground or to hunt the same day or day after a flight was made to locate wildlife."
Old 11-19-2003, 07:16 AM

Yeah, I guess that goes for Colorado, I have read the 2003-2004 regs. and it didn' t say anything about this. I know it is illegal to shine light on deer and shoot from a vehicle here. Since it didn' t say anything about using aircraft for observation I did it.

Arman M G
Old 11-19-2003, 07:39 AM
Fork Horn

Hi IR655

It says on the first page (on the internet " edition" ):

" It is unlawful to use any of the following in TAKING wild birds or animals:

-airplanes"