Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Firearms Forum > Guns
Big game rifle >

Big game rifle

Community
Guns Like firearms themselves, there's a wide variety of opinions on what's the best gun.

Big game rifle

Old 12-20-2016, 05:22 PM
Spike

Default Big game rifle

Hey folks!

Fall of 2017 will be my first moose hunt. I have been hunting for the last four years mostly waterfowl and small game animals. I hunt deer too but where i live we are only allowed to use a crossbow so i actually never had to buy a rifle specifically for hunting. I owned a few rifles like the SKS, Mosin Nagant and a Lee-Enfield which i was shooting regularly with an open sight but never hunted with them.

Now the time has come to choose a rifle which will be specifically used to hunt Moose. Bear and Wild Hog are definitely going to be part of what i hunt in the future. I was thinking about either a 7mm or a 300 win mag. I Shot both of these in the past. Both pretty accurate and i found the recoil to be very tolerable.

These are my two picks based on my experience. But with so many calibers to choose from i have a hard time making a decision. Any insight on which caliber and rifle brand to choose based on your personal experiences would be really helpful.

Thank you!

PS: Sorry for the bad english! It is my second language
Old 12-20-2016, 06:13 PM
Nontypical Buck