Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Firearms Forum > Guns
Difference between 7mm wsm and 7mm-08 >

Difference between 7mm wsm and 7mm-08

Guns Like firearms themselves, there's a wide variety of opinions on what's the best gun.

Difference between 7mm wsm and 7mm-08

Old 12-14-2015, 05:45 PM
Spike

Default Difference between 7mm wsm and 7mm-08

I'm new to precision rifles and honestly haven't even gotten my first one. I'm learning about certain rounds before I even have eyes on a rifle. I recently heard of the 7mm class and was wondering what is the difference between the 7mm Winchester short mag and the 7mm-08? Is it .223 vs 5.56 different or are there more differences then that? my only real rifle training is what the army gave me with the M4. Thank you for your time.

EDIT: The only thing rifle wise I am looking at bolt action. Because I know simi I well rush my shot and send rounds down range that will be unneeded and/or sloppy.

Last edited by Badger7.7; 12-14-2015 at 06:44 PM.
Old 12-14-2015, 06:01 PM
Nontypical Buck

With a 140 grain bullet about 400 feet per second. The 7mm08 case life is generally longer for reloaders as most tend to load the 7mm wsm to it's hotter ranges. Some people have also experienced faster throat burnouts with 7mm wsm but that could be more to do with cheaper barrels than the round itself.

Within my ranges of ethical hunting (400 yards max) I can pretty much do anything with my 7mm08 as one can do with the 7mm wsm.
Old 12-14-2015, 06:09 PM
Nontypical Buck

These are completely different cases. The WSM case holds quite a bit more powder than the 7mm-08 does. The WSM case has a rim of .535" and a length of 2.100", while the 7mm-08 has a rim of .473 and a length of 2.035.

This is not at all like the differences between a .223 and a 5.56.
Old 12-14-2015, 06:28 PM
Spike

Originally Posted by super_hunt54