HuntingNet.com Forums

HuntingNet.com Forums (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/)
-   Guns (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/guns-10/)
-   -   Light trigger safety (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/guns/401406-light-trigger-safety.html)

tealboy 09-14-2015 02:49 AM

Light trigger safety

I responded in a previous post about my comfort with a 2 lb trigger for hunting but woke up this morning wondering if i am missing a point as it relates to safety and light triggers, in other words, what is the risk? In my mind, i feel like i know the answer and it is the possibility of it going off unintentionally bc you were on the trigger but not ready to fire. A light trigger can contribute to this. I am comfortable with my ability to handle this risk but is there more to be concerned with?

Personally, i have about 40 yrs of firearms experience so my confidence in handling weapons in a safe manner is high, but, decided it wouldn't hurt to see if i am missing something.

Btw, i understand the need to thoroughly test the effectivness of the safety when adj the trigger by slamming the bolt shut, banging the butt a few times, etc, all while unloaded of course

Game Stalker 09-14-2015 03:40 AM

None of my guns in the past have had lightened triggers. From what I read, 2.5-3 lbs. is optimal w/hunting firearms. What if you are hunting w/your lightened trigger and you were going through brush and the trigger were snagged causing a discharge? Seems like a few extra oz.'s of trigger pull are worth the extra margin of safety. With what I've used to me, a 3 lb. trigger would be a joy. I'll leave the slipping, falling, dropping the weapon causing discharge to others and keep watching-like yourself- to see what the more experienced on this matter have to say.

alleyyooper 09-14-2015 04:27 AM

I have all my Rifle triggers set at 2 pounds except the Winchester 94's and three 22lg, & mag.