Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Firearms Forum > Guns
Savage 10 Front Action Screw >

Savage 10 Front Action Screw

Guns Like firearms themselves, there's a wide variety of opinions on what's the best gun.

Savage 10 Front Action Screw

Old 12-02-2014, 06:10 PM
  #1  
Spike
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Winston County, AL
Posts: 84
Default Savage 10 Front Action Screw

My Savage 10 is missing the front action screw. I'm having the darnedest time finding a replacement, too. Midway sells one, but it's too short for the wood stock (which is what I have), despite advertizing it as such. Brownells and several other places have them listed but they've been out of stock for several weeks now.

Any suggestions?

What size is the original? Perhaps I can find one at the hardware store.
Barefoot Friar is offline  
Old 12-02-2014, 06:52 PM
  #2  
Giant Nontypical
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Allegan, MI
Posts: 8,019
Default

The Midway ad shows that it matches the factory original, so is your wood stock not the original one on the rifle? How much longer do you think you need the replacement screw to be compared to what they show as the one needed?
Topgun 3006 is offline  
Old 12-03-2014, 01:39 AM
  #3  
Nontypical Buck
 
alleyyooper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: MICHIGAN
Posts: 2,568
Talking

Contact Savage customer service. have your serial number and model number handy.

http://savagearms.com/customerservice/


Al
alleyyooper is offline  
Old 12-03-2014, 03:28 AM
  #4  
Spike
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Winston County, AL
Posts: 84
Default

Originally Posted by Topgun 3006
The Midway ad shows that it matches the factory original, so is your wood stock not the original one on the rifle? How much longer do you think you need the replacement screw to be compared to what they show as the one needed?
I'm just basing that off the reviews, one of which says, "This screw is for synthetic stocks, NOT WOOD" or something like that.
Barefoot Friar is offline  
Old 12-03-2014, 04:11 AM
  #5  
Giant Nontypical
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Allegan, MI
Posts: 8,019
Default

Originally Posted by Barefoot Friar
I'm just basing that off the reviews, one of which says, "This screw is for synthetic stocks, NOT WOOD" or something like that.
Then if you haven't even tried it, why not spend the little they want for one and see if it works?
Topgun 3006 is offline  
Old 12-03-2014, 07:41 AM
  #6  
Typical Buck
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: North East PA. but not home.
Posts: 743
Default

1/4x28 tpi. I could measure mine but i'm using it and don't want to mess with the stock!
mounting man is offline  
Old 12-04-2014, 04:50 AM
  #7  
Nontypical Buck
 
alleyyooper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: MICHIGAN
Posts: 2,568
Talking

Just save time and do Savage customer service. Once they know th serial number and model number they will know what you need and many times a screw is sent free of charge.
They even sent me some scope bases I was not able to find locally free of charge.

Winchester sent me a front sight hood for a 60 year OLD model 94 free of charge once.

Customer service is to help the customer, most have 800 phone numbers, E mail addresses you can use also.

Al
alleyyooper is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service -

Copyright © 2024 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.