Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Firearms Forum > Guns
 what' s your 7mm knowledge? >

what' s your 7mm knowledge?

Community
Guns Like firearms themselves, there's a wide variety of opinions on what's the best gun.

what' s your 7mm knowledge?

Old 09-25-2003, 10:49 PM
Fork Horn

Default what' s your 7mm knowledge?

I' m new to the forum and looking for a new rifle for deer hunting in wisconsin. I currently have a 870 express magnum with field and rifled barrel. Now it' s time to add a rifle. I' ve hunted with a .35rem (model 42 i think) for a couple of seasons and know that it' s potential is under 100 yds. Point being i am presented with shots over 100 yards and would like to be able to make action on these oppurtunites. Before i decied what brand of rifle i want i thought that it might be wise to narrow down a caliber. I was looking at (and i stress looking, as i have no experience with any other than .35rem and .308win, unfortunately i didn' t have the chance to wittnes it' s performance first hand, the .308 that is).270 .280 .30 06 .300 mag .308 .7mm' s ect. What are your preferences or recomendations? I' m pretty open to suggestion. I have also been presented with oppurtunities to partake in an elk hunt. With that in mind i would expect it to narrow choices right?
Thanks
ak
Old 09-25-2003, 11:01 PM
Fork Horn

Default RE: what' s your 7mm knowledge?

Six of one and half a dozen of the other as far as all cartidges that you have mentioned. The only thing I will say other than that is that if you are a recoil shy individual then you would probably want to avoid the magnums(300 WIN mag and 7mm REM. mag). Good luck.
Old 09-25-2003, 11:15 PM