Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Firearms Forum > Guns
338 WM groupings >

338 WM groupings

Community
Guns Like firearms themselves, there's a wide variety of opinions on what's the best gun.

338 WM groupings

Old 01-28-2013, 05:52 AM
Typical Buck

Default 338 WM groupings

my new 700 338 WM is grouping at about 3" @ 100 yds. i went thru a break in process plus i have tried 2 different types of ammo. i can not slide a dollar bill between the stock and barrel. i started shooting off of sand bags and went to a lead sled thinking it might be a bit of flinch with the magnum gun. nothing seems to change. out of 70 rounds i have had 2 3 shot groups that had 2 rounds real close with the 3rd being 2-3" away. remington has suggested sending it in to have it checked. any thoughts?
Old 01-28-2013, 07:31 AM
Giant Nontypical

Send it back......................Now is the time to let them address it !
Old 01-28-2013, 11:30 AM
Nontypical Buck

Yeah that gun should shoot very good. I have a Remington 700 BDL 338 win mag that shoots under a 1" all day long with just about everything I have ever shot in it. It really shines with the 225gr. Nosler Accubond and RL-19 powder though.
Old 01-28-2013, 11:33 AM
Typical Buck

Default .338 Win Mag Accuracy Issue

I've never had a Remington 700 that didn't shoot more accurately once I Free-floated the barrel and bedded the action. I've owned alot of 700's and I've done this to them all. My cousin had an 1980's vintage 700 ADL in .300 Win. Mag. Shot about like you're describing. We floated the barrel and bedded the action. It immediately shrunk group size from about 2.0" - 2.5" to 5/8" - 3/4". This was with 180 gr. Remington Core-Lokts. This is all my cousin shoots thru this rifle. We did this in the mid 90's and it's still shooting the Core-Lokts about the same. It will help if while you're having a Gunsmith do the bedding work have him work the trigger down to about 3 lbs and you'll be good to go.
Old 01-28-2013, 02:04 PM
Nontypical Buck