Community
Guns Like firearms themselves, there's a wide variety of opinions on what's the best gun.

Mausers

Old 08-07-2003, 10:34 PM
Boone & Crockett

Default Mausers

I am going to be building a rifle for my son and wife in school early next year and was thinking about using a mauser action to base it on. I am limited in knowledge about the old military rifles nd actions so I need your help.

1) What country of origin I should be looking for? So far looking around I have seen Czech, Turkish, Yugo. German and Belegium (sp) will probably cost too much as I am on some what of a budget with this rifle.

2) Is there any major differances in the small ring and large rig.

Basicaly I need a run down on what to be looking for all together.

Thanks for any help.
Old 08-07-2003, 11:42 PM
Boone & Crockett

Default RE: Mausers

I think the 98 Mauser is the most common mauser used to build rifles. A friend of mine and I used some German ones to build a few rifles on. I am not an expert on this however.
Old 08-08-2003, 05:40 AM

bigbulls, are you actually doing the work or paying someone to build the rifle. If you' re on that low of a budget you' re going to find a decent job from anybody other than a gunsmith wannabe is going to be fairly expensive. I' m assuming since you are unfamiliar with large ring vs. small ring, you won' t be doing the work yourself.

The Turks can be picked up anywhere from $40 to $75.00 depending upon condition, so if this is too expensive I think you' re in over your head already. I don' t mean this to be insulting, I' m just not sure you realize the expense. If you' re just talking about buying a cheap military rifle and cutting the barrel off shorter and calling it " sporterized" then you might be o.k.
Old 08-08-2003, 06:26 AM
Giant Nontypical