Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Firearms Forum > Guns
Rifled Choke tube help? >

Rifled Choke tube help?

Community
Guns Like firearms themselves, there's a wide variety of opinions on what's the best gun.

Rifled Choke tube help?

Old 11-14-2010, 12:15 PM
Fork Horn

Default Rifled Choke tube help?

My son-in-law wants to try out rifled choke tubes in a Remington 870 with a 21” barrel. Any suggestions as to whose choke he should buy and what is the correct ammo to try? He states that where he hunts in Ohio that 50 yards is a long shot. What say you?
Old 11-15-2010, 03:43 AM
Nontypical Buck

I have no experience with rifled tubes. I would try a mid-velocity sabot like the Federal Fusion at 1600 fps.

If 50 yds is a long shot, truthfully, I'd go with an IC or modified Choke tube and shoot a foster style slug. They are so much cheaper than sabots, and I'm kinda cheap too.
Old 11-16-2010, 06:56 AM
Nontypical Buck

I have to agree with Uncle Norby, my gun will shoot a 4" group at 100 yards with Winchester 1 ounce rifled slugs. Those things just flat out kill as good, if not better than any other caliber or bullet out there. They leave a HUGE hole, and if a deer runs there will be tons of blood to follow.
Old 11-23-2010, 12:42 PM
Spike