Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Firearms Forum > Guns
how to improve shooting >

how to improve shooting

Community
Guns Like firearms themselves, there's a wide variety of opinions on what's the best gun.

how to improve shooting

Old 07-10-2010, 06:08 PM
Giant Nontypical

Default how to improve shooting

Ok first some history. I am a 95% self taught shooter. Be it target or hunting. I got my first gun at 18 and have went from pistols, shotguns rifles, and Ar rifles plus muzzelloaders.

My taught not me the basics but he is not a big gun guy and the only gun we ever owned when I was a kid was a 22.
I do good get the rounds on the target most of the time. I can hit 75% if I shoot clays off a mound from 25 to 30 yards with my glock. I do good with rifles. though not as good or great as I would like.

I was thinking about getting a large cal AR or bolt gun the other day if our trip to florida fell out but it is on and the rifle will need to wait. Though I want to improve my shooting with my handgun now.

My thought was put up a couple targets and go from one to the other and do some draw and fire drills. I think i might be getting ahead of my self and think I should go with the basics.

SO figure starting from near scratch what should I shot with and move on to
Old 07-10-2010, 06:18 PM
Typical Buck

Are we talking handgun or rifle here?
Old 07-10-2010, 06:49 PM
Nontypical Buck

I had some training in law enforcement. This biggest thing I learned... don't jerk the trigger. This is the #1 reason people aren't good shooters.

Try this.. look at your front sight, crosshair etc.. and say in your mind over and over front sight.. front sight... while slowing squeezing the trigger. The reason to say front sight.. front sight.. is so you occupy your mind and you're not concentrating on pulling the trigger. Don't worry about when it's going to go off. I have a slow trigger pull, especially while hunting, but this made a huge difference for me.
Old 07-10-2010, 08:39 PM